A New Year huh?

Standard

Well, I suppose Happy New Year announcement is in order here! It is the first day of a new year in which many thought would never come; no thanks to the Mayans. But since we made it and we have another term of 365 days to look forward to, I want to share with you what my plans are this year. There are two things I want to do this year; no matter what.

First; I want to read through my entire devotional. A wonderful woman gave me a daily devotional a few years ago and I always have intentions of just picking it up and starting, but I never do. It gives you a little of the bible to read every day and at the end of the year you have read the bible in its entirety. She has read it 11 times through! And me still not once, yet I say I am a Christian. Okay, let me rephrase that. I am a Christian, I just need to buckle down on my biblical reading. I did already read it today, if I can just wake up from all the ‘begots’ in Matthew I will be great! And I know I am not the only one who thinks the same thing either. But I do what to post a verse that stuck out to me today. It is Proverbs 1:7 ‘The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, But fools despise wisdom and instruction’.

Secondly; I want to take my health alot more seriously. Everyone knows I am diabetic and my sugar is completely out of control. Well, so is my dieting and exercise. I need to be more conscience of what goes into my body, literally. More water, less everything else. I am not saying I am going on a diet, because you never actually commit to a diet on New Years Day and carry it out full stream. I just commit to walking the dogs more, drinking more water, and eating better. I have to get my sugar under control. I do not want one of those pumps, and that is what I am facing if I do not take action.

So those are my long-term goals, here is one short-term goal. I want to complete this C25K app challenge. There is an app on Smartphones called C25K made by Huffman that claims no matter who you are within 9-12 weeks you can go from sitting on your couch to being able to actually run/jog a 5K. I would love to be able to do this. I am going to try at least. And anyone that wants to join me is more than welcome. I would love to hear about your experiences with it as well. Each day it tells me what I am supposed to do. Since today is Day 1, I am supposed to ‘take a brisk 5 minute walk, then alternate 60 seconds of jogging with 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. It may not sound like alot, but when you are as overweight as I am, it is a huge task. But the great thing is, even if I try and fail. I can redo Day 1 again tomorrow. I do not move on to Day 2 until I have mastered Day 1. I will try to do this beginning today and see how far I get. I am praying I can do it all the way to the end, to the 5K!

Well, enough about me. I have a few things to do around the house before my day of a single mom actually begins.

I pray a prosperous, healthy, and happy New Year to you All.

Kristina

 

Leave a Reply

