The Bible and Debt

Standard

What exactly does it mean?

I have been working diligently to clean my credit up, get bills paid off and repair the years of damage I did to myself. I have never had a repo or foreclosure or anything like that most of the things on my credit are medical bills or utility bills. I have a few student loans and a huge business loan from when I had my business up and running. Well on the brighter side of things a bill did get paid off today that I have been making payments on for ages it seemed like. Just my old cable bill but still, it got paid. I have been sending them 10 or 20 $ every 2 weeks and I have finally done it and it is paid in full. We use a converter box when we watch TV anyway right now, so no reason to get it turned back on and give me a bill again so I will now take that money I was sending them and send it to the next company I owe to lol…A vicious cycle it is owing people.

The bible says the the borrower is a slave to the lender and I believe this to be 100% true. However in Romans 13:8 it says ‘Owe no man anything; but to love one another: for he that loveth another hath fulfilled the law’. Now I wonder just how in the world is it possible to owe no man anything. Maybe I am reading into this scripture incorrectly, so if you have any insight please let me know your thoughts. How can I owe no man anything when I have rent, lights, car note,  insurance and all these bills? Is there certain bills that you can owe and certain ones God is saying never owe?

I owe a HUGE debt from years ago that I actually signed VOLUNTARILY to have garnished out of my paycheck AND they are taking my IRS tax returns until it is paid in full. Now I wonder if I did the right thing doing that. Is God going to punish me because I am paying it the wrong way, should I have made payment through a different venue? It is a 17K dollar debt and will take some time to pay it off but it will be a few more years at least to be at a zero balance.

I am trying so hard to do right by His word and I am trying to study more and more. But I am wondering if I am taking His word out of context sometimes when I read. I wish I could join a bible study group that helped with debt payments and helped Christians get bills paid and out of debt. That would be great. This stresses me more and more every day dodging phone calls from bill collectors and such. I don’t want to have to live like this, cringing when I check my mailbox and throwing half the collection agency notices away. I think if I was in a bible group like that I would be ashamed to tell all my debt anyway, so yea that would probably not be a good idea now that I think about it. I do not want anyone judging me for my past mistakes.

So, I guess I will pick out a new bill to start making payments on and start sending them my 10 or 20 $ every two weeks now and get another one paid off. It will be slow, but that is all I can afford right now. I look at it this way, at least I am paying something.

God Bless and have a good Night.

Leave a Reply

